Despite Covid, 12 Individuals Nominated For Downtown Awards 2020-21

January 25, 2021

Local Media




Since 1986 the Missoula Downtown Association (MDA) has been honoring and recognizing individuals and businesses that contribute to the vibrant life and connectivity of Downtown Missoula. While the pandemic will prevent the Downtown community from gathering to celebrate, twelve individuals will be recognized and celebrated for their selfless contributions to a better Downtown Missoula. The six Downtown Award Winners will be shared with the Missoula community February 1-5 by video on Missoula Downtown’s Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.


The nominees for the 2020-21 Downtown Missoula Annual Awards are:


Downtown Employee of the Year

  • Shirstie Gaylord, Hometana
  • Shanti Johnson, Missoula Urban Transportation Dist.
  • Nathan McLeod, Missoula Parks & Recreation


Downtown Volunteer of the Year

  • Geoff Badenoch


Downtown Board Member of the Year

  • Ashley Larkin, First Montana Bank
  • Jed Liston, University of Montana


Downtown Committee Member of the Year

  • Tom Snyder, 5 on Black


Downtown Business of the Year

  • Missoula Broadcasting Company: Becky Smith
  • Missoula Paddleheads: Peter Davis & Susan Crampton-Davis
  • Stockman Bank: Bob Burns


Dan Cederberg Downtowner of the Year

  • Eric Legvold, United Way
  • Amy Allison-Thompson, The Poverello Center



“Every year the Missoula Downtown Association celebrates a handful of Missoulians who simply go above and beyond the standard in their daily lives to provide service to the Downtown community,” said Ashley Larkin, President of the Missoula Downtown Association Board of Directors. “In an extraordinary year, when the opportunities to connect in person were essentially eliminated, the contributions of these 12 individuals stand out as remarkable.


“While we won’t be able to celebrate these folks at our annual awards banquet this year,” she said, “we hope our partners and members will help us spread the good news. Great things happen because of good people, and Downtown Missoula is special because of their contributions.”


Established in 1975, the Missoula Downtown Association is comprised of 550 members and is dedicated to promoting, supporting and enhancing the vitality of Downtown Missoula. The annual awards program was created in 1986 with the Downtowner of the Year Award, which was renamed in 2018 to honor the three decades of public service to the Downtown community by local attorney Dan Cederberg. The program was expanded in 2004 and again in 2014 for a total of six specific honorees annually. Some of Downtown Missoula’s biggest champions are on the list.


For more information on the Downtown Award nominees, visit or contact Chelsee Kucera at the Downtown Missoula Partnership office via phone (406-543-4238) or email ([email protected]).



Downtown Missoula: Connecting Our Community!







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *